Finding a fountain of youth: nutritious food and exercise. Can I win the 90 day challenge at Lifetime Fitness Health Club?

20140730-014430-6270980.jpgd

 

Something clicked. I just decided it was time to get fit. I do know at age 64, it’s really time to get serious.

I started watching Chris Powell’s show, ” Extreme Makeover Weightloss Edition.” Chris Powell is adorable, and seems like a very caring person. I have been watching his take these very obese people, and get them in shape. He is one of those people who knows how to motivate. His wife, Heidi, is also cute, and a good motivator. I DVR the show, then watch it a few times to get motivated. I also go on the Facebook pages for Chris and Heidi.

I started cutting my carbs, but in a healthy way. I am eating a lot of vegetables and some fruit because those things are good for you. I cut out all the junk, and some bread. I’m using almond milk, and using Ezekial bread (which Chris recommends.) Surprisingly, a lot of my cravings have diminished. My night eating is on hold. I really don’t feel like it. In the last month I’ve lost around 7 pounds. (I did gain about 4 of those pounds rapidly, so I don’t know whether to count it. Okay, I am!)

Feeling young at the gym
I bit the bullet and decided to lay out $150.00 extra dollars and my gym to get personal training in a group. It’s a little pricey when you’re one of those retired types. I figure I’m not going out to eat that much, so why not spend it on myself.  S0 far, I’m happy I did that. At the very least, I’ m learning how to use some of the machines I never tried before.

The trainer is 28, and it seems like he got the booby prize. Older overweight ladies. So far, he’s doing a great job with us all. He makes it hard, but not impossible, and I am actually sweating. I do a lot of aerobics in the pool, and bike spinning, but apparently that doesn’t give me as much strength as I thought it did! I rarely sweat a whole lot, but each time I do this personal training, it’s like a rain shower. I’m proud of that sweat too!

The trainer, Greg, looked a little terrified when I couldn’t get off the lifting machine and loudly clanged the weights together. It did scare me a little. I couldn’t figure out how to get off the thing without making all that noise. He decided I’d use the easier machine. (However, I’m going to go tomorrow and figure it out.)

I am slightly afraid of some of the equipment because I have had a few accidents throughout my life. I actually fell over the sidewalk when I was little and split my chin open. As I was growing up, I managed to do it 3 more times, and completely eradicated the cute dimple I used to have in my chin. I’ve broken various bones, and as an adult made a flying leap down a flight of stairs when I was turning a corner in the dark. I seriously thought I would lose my leg, but it’s healed. It was an exciting flight. I am grateful I didn’t bite the bullet.

I feel hopeful

The gym is having a 90 day challenge. Right now, I am 44 per cent fat. How disgusting is that? If in 3 months, I could get that percentage down, I might be able to win. After all, most of the people competing in this are already fit and thin! And much younger than me. So every day, I’m saying to myself, “I’m going to win.” Maybe I’ll start believing it by tomorrow. I love rewards!

In the meantime, I realize I’m not ready for the pasture quite yet. Maybe I’ve given up before I should have. Age is only a number.  Doing this has actually given me a new lease on life. I haven’t gotten discouraged yet!

This picture taken with my lovely sisters, made me realize that I need to do something. I am the one wearing the glasses!

What do you think?

Leave a comment